SOUTH DAKOTA VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AWARDS

It is time to recognize those who support the veterinary profession with their outstanding work and contributions. Please nominate a colleague for one of the awards presented by SDVMA to recognize excellence in veterinary medicine.

Do you know a veterinarian, veterinary technician or industry representative that has made an impact on veterinary medicine? Please nominate that person for one of SDVMA's awards, which will be presented at the SDVMA Annual Meeting in August, 2015. There are many people who help make the veterinary profession great, and it is important to recognize these contributions. <u>The deadline for</u> <u>nominations is July 10, 2015</u>. Please submit the nomination(s) on the attached form to ensure that we recognize the best of veterinary medicine.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

This award is made to an individual who has brought distinction to the veterinary profession through his/her devotion to the care and well-being of animals, support for the profession, and contributions to the community. This individual exemplifies the profession, both personally and professionally, through support of veterinary medicine, research, colleagues, and/or students and through civic participation. This individual's contributions have advanced the profession and serve as an inspiration to veterinarians and the clients they serve.

VETERINARIAN OF THE YEAR

This award is made annually to an SDVMA member who has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession and to the animals and clients he/she serves. The award recognizes a member for service and accomplishments benefitting the profession of veterinary medicine.

EMERGING LEADER AWARD

This award is made to an SDVMA member who graduated from veterinary school within the last 10 years and has displayed outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, private practice, regulatory services, civic activities, academia, and/or organized veterinary medicine.

OUTSTANDING VETERINARY TECHNICIAN AWARD

This award is made to a registered veterinary technician who has provided outstanding support to veterinary medicine through dedication to the care and well-being of animals and professional knowledge and execution in service to the profession.

BILL DAVIS MEMORIAL AWARD

This award is given annually to a sales representative of a veterinary supply company who has demonstrated an unusual degree of service and assistance to veterinarians and the veterinary profession in South Dakota.



South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association Box 2175, SDSU Brookings, SD 57007 www.sdvetmed.org







Distinguished Service Award Veterinarian of the Year Emerging Leader Award Outstanding Veterinary Technician Award Bill Davis Memorial Award

> Nominations due by July 10, 2015!

SOUTH DAKOTA VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AWARDS

		ty		
Nominated for: (check one)	Distinguished SerVeterinarian of thEmerging Leader	e Year	Outstanding VeterinaBill Davis Memorial A	
Name of nominator				
Address				
City	State	Zip		
Phone	Fax	Email		
Please provide a narrative	of your nomination. (attach addition	mal pages if necessary)		

• Biography, Resume, or Curriculum Vitae of Nominee

• Letters of Support for Nomination

• Any additional supporting documentation

Please submit completed nomination form by July 10, 2015.

South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association Box 2175, SDSU, Brookings, SD 57007 or Fax: (605) 688-6003



SOUTH DAKOTA VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AWARDS

Past SDVMA Award Winners



VETERINARIAN OF THE YEAR

First year of award - 1967

1967	Glenn Duncan	1979	M. W. Vorhies	1991	Daryl Thorpe	2003	David Zeman
					, i		
1968	Harold Severson	1980	Gene Monfore	1992	Arnold Gertonson	2004	Bruce Teachout
1969	Kenneth Sadler	1981	Duane Hughes	1993	John Thomson	2005	Vicky Wilkey
1970	M.D. Mitchell	1982	Paul Hohman	1994	George Twitero	2006	Fred Hubbard
1971	James T. Brown	1983	Keith Johnson	1995	Ken Schulte	2007	James Myers
1972		1984	Norman Meriweather	1996	Paul Wittenberg	2008	Kevin Klozenbucher
1973		1985	Peter Preheim	1997	Robert Christensen	2009	Chris Chase
1974		1986	William Sessions	1998	Sam Holland	2010	Russ Daly
1975		1987	Robert Snyder	1999	Steve Tornberg	2011	Jim Bain
1976	Lee Dorwart	1988	Lee Johnson	2000	James Wasson	2012	John Voegeli
1977	Jim Bailey	1989	Clyde Kirkbride	2001	Gary Straight	2013	James Stangle
1978	Wendell Peden	1990	Darrell Johnson	2002	Peggy Behrens	2014	John Ismay

BILL DAVIS MEMORIAL AWARD

First year of award - 1989

1989	Don Forness	1996	Jim Lohrenz	2003	Carter Johnson	2010	Carter Johnson
1990	Bob Anderson	1997	Jim Feller	2004	Tom Dosch	2011	Dan Fedders
1991	Jake Blackstone	1998	Craig Dybedahl	2005	Tim Blackstone	2012	Jamie Rick
1992	Don & Jack Lawrenson	1999	Randy Larson	2006	Gene Inhofer	2013	Dave Gaer
1993	Lyle Henning	2000	Wayne Sheldon	2007	Lowell Malard	2014	John Rehmeier
1994	Geo Gallu	2001	Rich Konechne	2008	Ron Frederick		
1995	Bill Douglas	2002	Ron Bernhardt	2009	Nate Frederickson		

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

First year of award - 2012

OUTSTANDING VETERINARY TECHNICIAN AWARD

First year of award - 2012

2012	Wendell Peden	2012	Becky Thyen
2013	George Twitero	2013	Dennis Lively
2014	James Bailey	2014	Marlene Gannon

South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association

Box 2175, SDSU, Brookings, SD 57007 or Fax: (605) 688-6003



EMERGING LEADER AWARD

First year of award - 2012

2012	Todd Tedrow
2013	Dustin Oedekoven
2014	Travis White